Difference: SimultaneousEdits (r4 vs. r3)

FAQ:

What happens if two of us try to edit the same topic simultaneously?

Answer:

The second person gets TWiki allows multiple simultaneous edits of the same topic, and then merges the different changes automatically. You probably won't even notice this happening unless there is a warning conflict that cannot be merged automatically. In this case, you may see TWiki inserting "change marks" into the topic is currently being edited by text to highlight conflicts between your edits and another user. A topic gets locked automatically for some person's. These change marks are only used if time (default is one hour) when you edit, edit preview or save the topic. If you get same part of a topic as someone else, and they indicate what the lock warning you should wait until text used to look like, what the lock is gone or contact the other person to ask person's edits were, if you can go ahead and break the lock. See what your edits were. also UnlockTopic.

TWiki will warn if you attempt to edit a topic that someone else is editing. It will also warn if a merge was required during a save.

Back to: TWikiFAQ

-- Related Topics:TWiki:Main.PeterThoeny - 27 Nov 2000 UserDocumentationCategory

View topic | View difference side by side | History: r5 < r4 < r3 < r2 | More topic actions
 
This site is powered by the TWiki collaboration platformCopyright © 1999-2019 by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding TWiki? Send feedback
Note: Please contribute updates to this topic on TWiki.org at TWiki:TWiki.SimultaneousEdits.